The skills of amrican workforce

Commission & Staff


Ray Marshall

Professor Emeritus and Audre and Bernard Rapoport Centennial Chair in Economics and Public Affairs, LBJ School, University of Texas

Ray Marshall holds the Audre and Bernard Rapoport Centennial Chair in Economic and Public Affairs, The University of Texas at Austin and served as President Carter’s Secretary of Labor. He chairs the National Center on Education and the Economy’s Board of Trustees, was a Trustee of the Carnegie Corporation, and served as a member of the Carnegie Forum’s Advisory Council. He was coauthor with Marc Tucker of Thinking For a Living: Education and the Wealth of Nations, winner of the Sidney Hillman Prize for 1992. Secretary Marshall’s board memberships include the Institute for the Future (former chair), German Marshall Fund, the USX Corporation, Spelman College, and the Quality Education for Minorities Network. With Secretary Bill Brock, he chaired the first Commission on the Skills of the American Workforce.